Gameweek 30 Starting XI

GW30 Starting XI

Really had no idea what to do this week.  Absolutely none.  I really didn’t want Van Persie.  I think he is overvalued, a bit out-of-form (due to fatigue in my opinion), and will be rotated a ton down the stretch.  Yet, I have to balance my needs and desires with the reality of my money league.  I currently sit 52 points up on second and 118 on third; I need to ensure my moves are prudent and protect my lead.  In the end, this pushed me to RVP as both chasers have Van Persie and will be certain to captain him.  Thus, it was Van Persie in, but whom to drop?

Given his recent form, Luis Suárez was no option.  He is simply too good right now.  That left Daniel Sturridge and Christian Benteke for the chopping block.  While I love Sturridge, I don’t believe he is fully fit and the game at Southampton could be tricky for the Reds, at least tricky enough to make doubling up on attackers ill-conceived.  So it’s Sturridge who is sacrificed although I can certainly foresee pulling the former Chelsea striker back into my squad in the near future.

Given the tasty fixture list I saw no need to make an additional move.  I would like to drop Davies and Puncheon soon as well as upgrade Michu to a double gameweeker.  All that can wait though as nothing is pressing enough to deserve a hit.  Thus, I am sticking with one move this week.

Lineup Selections

Up front my selections were simple.  Puncheon has a mediocre fixture and has been a rotation casualty two of the last three.  He is also my least productive forward player, so he benches himself.

In the back, the decisions are a bit trickier.  Stoke has a good shot at a clean sheet this weekend so Marc Wilson is set as a starter.  I also will not be benching Zabaleta although I suspect City concedes this week.  The final spot came down to José Enrique at Southampton or Ben Davies at home to Arsenal.  In the end, Liverpool’s form and Enrique’s attacking prowess pushed me to start the Spaniard and push Davies to the first sub on the bench.  In goal I have decided to avoid Norwich’s poor away form and instead go with Szczesny at Swansea City.  It’s not a good matchup, but I prefer it to Bunn at Sunderland.

Captaincy Choices

Once I brought in Van Persie there was no choice but to captain him.  United should go crazy against Reading and I can only hope the Dutchman finds himself a brace (or more) to break out of his slump.  I’ve given the honor of vice-captain to the unstoppable Gareth Bale.  His form has been superb and Fulham at home is a tasty matchup.  I also considered Juan Mata against a depleted West Ham club.  Lots of good captaincy options this week.

So, there you have it.  I am pretty excited about my attacking potential this week but don’t expect more than maybe a single clean sheet at the back.  My hope is that I at least maintain my lead this week and can utilize Gameweek 30 as a springboard into double gameweek fun to come.

As always, good luck to fantasy managers everywhere (except those in my league)!

Leave a Reply

